Walking dreams inside the dress

by Caitlin

Image

 

Winter is on its way and I’ve retreated to my studio, dreaming up ideas for next spring and various ways to ensure I have an income next year. I’m currently developing a proposal that explores the idea of sanctuary through oral history and the re telling of stories in temporary story telling dwellings. I plan to print narrative textile designs onto a range of lightweight fabric, that are then made into individual garments that can interconnect to make a temporary dwelling for both the wearers and visiting audiences. I envision spontaneous link ups too, where people wearing the same garment realize they can interconnect and suddenly decide to embrace, and build a temporary interactive architectural structure.

Image

The work of Dana Karwas is the only existing contextual practice I can find. Her Party Dress piece, (also a site specific performance) is particularly relevant to my research and thinking. The project I’m working on is entitled Stories to Where, and I hope to work with interactive designers, story tellers and the general public. 

Image

 

I’m particularly interested in exploring the theme of sanctuary in my upcoming work. How and where do people take rest and renewal and why do they pursue the attainment of sanctuary. What role does sanctuary and retreat (weather psychological and physical) play in today’s society, increasingly public, outward facing and fast paced. All being well, the Arts Council will be similarly interested in these questions and fund a 6 month research project. Watch this space.

Image

