Sanctuary: Short listed for Tate St Ives Artist Residency Programme

by Caitlin

Blindfolded and listening

Blindfolded and listening

My currently touring Sanctuary project, has been short listed for the Tate St Ives Artist Residency. The interview for the 4 month residency, takes place next Tuesday. I thought it would be interesting to outline the idea of the project here.

Building on the work of the Sanctuary summer tour currently funded by the Arts Council and Kew Gardens, the residency would enable the development of my current practice, a multi sensory, site specific sound experience; Sanctuary.

Focusing on researching and developing an immersive sound experience, I plan to document and communicate the stories of sanctuary gathered from the residents of St Ives. I am particularly interested in recording sound material that explores people’s experiences and emotional and geographical associations of ideas surrounding Sanctuary. Committed to exploring the role of listening within installation art and participatory documentary, I want to work with local people to further explore the themes of sanctuary within public psyche. Specifically I would use the act of listening and moving in unison, as a method of connecting the bodily and sensory with the intellectual / conceptual experience of sanctuary.

Listening to the unspoken

Listening to the unspoken

The Sanctuary experience itself, concentrates on developing a multi sensory sound documentary experience. In this instance, I plan to develop and install a multi sensory sound experience in a range of site-specific locations around St Ives. In my current sound installation work, I work with mobile headphones, where each person receives the same broadcast through individual headsets. During this residency I would like to explore linking movement of small audiences to triggering site-specific sound sensors. I am also very interested in linking the Tate St Ives gallery with local site specific locations within which to experience a time based walk about sound-scape ‘Sanctuary’ journey.

